College Counseling

Trout,_Phil

Juniors and seniors, do you know Phil Trout? Our College Counselor is a key contact for your post-secondary planning and college search. He has personally toured hundreds of campuses and looks forward to sharing important insights with you.

It has often been said that the college search is a match to be made, and not a prize to be won. I’ll help you find the right fit. Phil Trout, the College Guy

Mr. Trout has a distinguished career as a College Counselor, and is now in his 13th year at Minnetonka. He previously served as the Director of College Counseling at Mounds Park Academy (St. Paul), Shattuck-St. Mary’s (Faribault) and the Illinois Math and Science Academy. He also has worked in college admissions at the University of Minnesota and the College of William and Mary. He is a Past-President of the Minnesota Association for College Admission Counseling, and he served on the Minnesota ACT Council.

He served as President of the National Association for College Admission Counseling (NACAC) during the 2015-2016 school year.

To make an appointment, please email collegeguy@minnetonkaschools.org or
call 952-401-5746


College Entrance Testing

Do you have questions about college entrance tests?
  • Why should I take the PSAT?
  • What’s the difference between the ACT and SAT?
  • When should I take the ACT/SAT?
  • How many times should I take the ACT/SAT?
  • How can I prepare for college entrance tests?

These questions vary based on each student and their situation. It’s a good idea to have a conversation with your counselor about testing.

For general information, please visit the Testing and Assessments webpage.

Information for Your College Search

2019-20 Schedule

All programs are in the MHS Forum, unless otherwise noted. Presentations or handouts and links to recorded webinars are posted below when available.

Date Time Event
Tuesday, Aug. 20 7 p.m. College Admissions 101
Thursday, Aug. 22 7 p.m. College Admissions 101
Monday, Aug. 26 7 p.m. Selective College Admissions: 5 Important Tips
Tuesday, Aug. 27 3:30 p.m. College Admissions 101
Wednesday, Aug. 28 3:30 p.m.

Completing a College Application - Practical Advice for Seniors

Wednesday, September 4 12-1 p.m.

Webinar: College Admissions 101
View the recorded webinar
View the presentation slides only

Thursday, Sept. 5 3:30 p.m. Selective College Admissions: 5 Important Tips
Friday, Sept. 6 12-1 p.m.

Webinar: Selective College Admissions: 5 Important Tips
View the recorded webinar
View the presentation slides only

Monday, Sept. 9 7 p.m.

Completing a College Application - Practical Advice for Seniors

Thursday, Sept. 12 7:15 a.m.

Completing a College Application - Practical Advice for Seniors

Monday, Sept. 16 7 p.m.

Senior Parent Program, Arts Center
View the recorded program
View the presentation slides only

Wednesday, Sept. 18 3:30 p.m. Completing a College Application - Practical Advice for Seniors
Thursday, Sept. 19 7 p.m. Admission to the Big Public Flagship Universities
Friday, Sept. 20 12 p.m.

We regret that we had to cancel this event due to technical difficulties. Please register for the rescheduled webinar on October 7 (you will receive the link to the recording if you cannot attend the live event).

View the presentation slides only.

Tuesday, Sept. 24 7:15 a.m. Admission to the Big Public Flagship Universities
Monday, Sept. 30 7 p.m. College Admissions and the Student Athlete
Thursday, Oct. 3 3:30 p.m. College Admissions and the Student Athlete
Monday, Oct. 7 12 p.m.

Webinar: Admission to the Big Public Flagship Universities
View the recorded webinar

Monday, Oct. 7 7 p.m.

Touring Colleges

Wednesday, Oct. 9 3:30 p.m. Touring Colleges
Monday, Oct. 14 7 p.m.

A Closer Look at Community and Technical Colleges

Tuesday, Oct. 15

3:30 p.m. A Closer Look at Community and Technical Colleges
Wednesday, Oct. 23 4 p.m. or 7 p.m.

Financing a College Education

Presentation slides courtesy of guest speaker Carly Eichhorst, Director of Financial Aid at St. Olaf College.

Monday, Oct. 28

7 p.m.

Looking for Scholarships

Monday, Nov. 4

3:30 p.m. Looking for Scholarships
Wednesday, Nov. 20 12-1 p.m.

Webinar: Financing a College Education

MHS College Counselor Phil Trout will welcome our guest speaker, Ms. Carly Eichhorst, Director of Financial Aid at St. Olaf College. Her presentation will include tips on completing the FAFSA and the details of a financial aid award (including grant, loan, and/or work study).

Note: Webinars are virtual presentations you can access from any device using the link provided by LogMeIn (GotoWebinar) after you register. You will have the opportunity to type and submit questions for our panelists during the webinar. 

Register for the Nov. 20 webinar

Tuesday, Feb. 4

7 p.m.

 

Junior Parent Program: A Kick-off to the College Search Process, Arts Center

Wednesday, Feb. 26 6-7:30 p.m. MACAC College Fair, MHS Commons

MHS Students