生日书

为您的孩子庆祝生日,送上一份阅读的礼物。以您孩子的名义,为我们学校的图书馆做出持久的贡献。

它是如何工作的

为每个孩子捐赠15美元给生日书计划。在您孩子的生日月期间,他们将参观港口,从预先购买的书籍中进行选择。这些书都是强烈推荐的,也是我们图书馆需要的书目。您的孩子将在封面内页贴上由您的孩子签名的书牌,以纪念您的孩子的贡献,他们将是第一个借阅图书的人。

今天就开始吧

通过RevTrak在我们的PTO网店在线注册。

您的付款有助于在整个学年中提供精选的生日书籍。额外的捐款有助于购买生日奖学金。加入我们的行列,为我们的图书馆做出贡献,并帮助您的孩子留下一个持久和重要的遗产。

关于Minnewashta的生日书项目的常见问题。

为什么是生日书?

Minnewashta PTO的生日图书计划于2013年秋季启动。目标是为每一位学生的生日送上持久的阅读礼物,并实现以下目标。

  • 消除带进教室的生日"点心"种类的差异。
  • 尽量减少与食物过敏原的接触
  • 提高港内图书的数量和种类。

它是如何工作的?

家长通过PTO网店为每个孩子捐赠15美元。在您孩子的生日月期间,参与的学生可以从港口的特别生日书籍收藏中选择一本书。 学生们将在需要时得到帮助,找到符合他们兴趣的书籍,并在封面内页上签名和贴上标明其特殊日子的书牌。 根据老师的决定,学生和/或他们的特别嘉宾可能希望在阅读时间向全班同学朗读这本书或其节选。

我的孩子什么时候可以在媒体中心选择他们的生日书?

每月月初和月中左右,港湾会有2次/月的"生日书站"开放。 老师们会在生日书站开放前在邮箱里收到通知,让他们知道班上有谁报名参加了当月的生日活动,以及送学生去港口的具体日期/时间窗口。 如果因为某些原因,学生无法在生日书站开放时前往,他们的老师会继续收到接下来每个站的通知,直到收到生日书为止。

我需要等到孩子生日的时候再去网店报名吗?

不,你可以在学年的任何时间报名参加这个项目。 学生一般会在生日月份选择自己的生日书。

如果我们家选择不参加呢?

没问题,这个项目完全可以选择,老师一般会在课堂上以其他方式确认学生的生日。 作为一种选择,学生也可以从图书馆借一本书给班级同学阅读,或者向老师的教室捐赠一本二手书。

我们家可以直接买一本书用于项目吗?

不,港湾不能接受外来书籍。我们的媒体专家从教育资源中预先购买了满足图书馆特定需求的书籍。 如果您有一本您认为对明尼阿斯塔图书馆有益的书籍,请随时联系生日图书主席Michelle Edstrom,可以与媒体专家合作评估该请求。

生日可以带食物到学校庆祝吗?

如果家长或学生在学生生日当天带食物来学校,办公室的工作人员和老师会善意地请他们在家里享用食物,并解释我们的生日书项目。

暑假/节假日生日什么时候过?

教师可以决定在非上课日庆祝生日的最佳时间。 对于生日书计划下的夏季生日,学生可以选择在他们的半岁生日、五月底或在学年开始时立即选择一本书。 在生日书报名表上,家长可以选择自己喜欢的书。

如果孩子的生日已经过了,我没有报名怎么办,会不会太晚?

不,您仍然可以使用上述相同的流程进行报名。一旦您报名,您孩子的老师会收到通知,让他们去下一个开放的生日书站。

是否有奖学金?

是的,参与的家庭可以捐献任何5美元的额外资金,为他人购买生日书。参与的家庭可以以5元为增量,额外捐款为他人购买生日书籍。学校社会工作者将确定哪些学生可以从他人的慷慨中受益,并将此信息直接传达给教职员工。

如果我有进一步的问题,我可以联系谁?

请联系PTO生日书主席Michelle Edstrom - michelle_edstrom@yahoo.com

Birthday Books

Celebrate your child’s birthday by giving the gift of reading. Make a lasting contribution, in your child’s name, to our school library.

How it Works

Donate $15 per child to the Birthday Books program. During your child’s birthday month, they will visit the Port to choose from a selection of pre-purchased books. These books come highly recommended and are needed titles in our library. A bookplate signed by your child will be attached on the inside front cover to mark your child’s contribution, and they will be the first person to check out the book!

Get Started Today!

Sign up online via RevTrak at our PTO Web Store.

Your payment helps provide a selection of Birthday Books throughout the school year. Extra donations help purchase Birthday scholarships. Join us in contributing to our library and help your child leave a lasting and significant legacy.

Frequently Asked Questions About Minnewashta’s Birthday Books Program

Why Birthday Books?

The Minnewashta PTO’s Birthday Book Program was launched in the Fall of 2013. The goal is to celebrate each student’s birthday with the lasting gift of reading and to achieve the following objectives:

  • Eliminate the disparity in the types of birthday “treats” brought to classrooms.
  • Minimize exposure to food allergens
  • Improve the quantity and variety of books available in the Port.

How does it work?

Parents donate $15 per child to the program via the PTO webstore. During your child’s birthday month, participating students choose a book from the Port’s special Birthday books collection.  Student’s will be assisted as needed in finding a book that matches their interests and will sign and attach a bookplate marking their special day on the inside front cover.  Based on teacher discretion, students and/or their special guest may wish to read the book, or an excerpt, to the class during reading time.

When will my child get to select their birthday book at the Media Center?

There will be a “Birthday books station” open 2x/month in the Port around the beginning and middle of the month.  Teachers will receive a notice in their mailbox before the station is open letting them know who in their class is signed up to participate with a birthday that month, and the specific day/time window to send the student to the Port.  If for some reason a student is unable to go to the Birthday books station when it is open, their teacher will continue to get notified for each following station until the Birthday book is received.

Do I need to wait until my child’s birthday to sign up in the Webstore?

No, you can sign up for the program at any time during the school year.  Student’s will generally select their Birthday book during their birthday month.

What if our family chooses not to participate?

No problem, the program is completely optional, and teachers generally acknowledge student’s birthdays in other ways in the classroom.  As an alternative, students can also borrow a book from the library to read to their class or donate a gently used book to their teacher’s classroom.

Can our family just purchase a book directly to use for the program?

No, the Port cannot accept outside books. Our media specialists have pre-purchased books from educational sources that address the library’s specific needs.  If you have a book that you think would be beneficial for the Minnewashta library, feel free to contact the Birthday Books chairperson, Michelle Edstrom, and the request can be evaluated in partnership with the media specialists.

Can food be brought to school to celebrate birthdays?

No. If a parent or student brings food to school on a student’s birthday, office staff and teachers will kindly ask them to enjoy the food at home and explain our Birthday Book program.

When will summer/holiday birthdays be celebrated?

Teachers may determine the best time to celebrate birthdays that land on non-school days.  For summer birthdays under the Birthday Books program, students will have the option to select a book on their half birthday, at the end of May, or right away when the program starts at the beginning of the school year.  On the Birthday Books sign up form, parents will have the ability to indicate their preference.

What happens if my child’s birthday already passed and I didn’t sign up, is it too late?

No. You can still sign up using the same process mentioned above. Once you have signed up, your child’s teacher will receive a notice to send them to the next available open Birthday Books station.

Are scholarships available?

Yes. Participating families may contribute additional funds, in any $5 increment amount, to purchase birthday books for others. The school social worker will identify students who could benefit from the generosity of others and will communicate this information directly to teaching staff.

Who can I contact if I have further questions?

Please contact the PTO Birthday Books Chairperson, Michelle Edstrom – michelle_edstrom@yahoo.com.