倡议

1. 青年心理健康

重要的心理健康习惯--包括应对、复原力和良好的判断力--帮助青少年实现整体健康,并为成年后的积极心理健康奠定基础。情绪波动在青春期很常见。然而,研究表明,每五名青少年中就有一名患有心理健康障碍,如抑郁症、焦虑症、药物使用或饮食失调。Tonka CARES的目标是建立伙伴关系,提高教育和意识,并改善我们社区中青少年对心理健康资源的获取。

2. 阿片类药物

由于国家和我们的社区都面临着阿片类药物的流行,Tonka CARES致力于改变我们社区中阿片类药物滥用和成瘾的对话和结果。Tonka CARES致力于改善教育和认识,支持处方药的适当医疗使用,减少获得药物的机会,支持早期干预和药物辅助治疗,Tonka CARES专注于改善预防,打破耻辱感,消除治疗这种致命和可预防疾病的障碍。

3. 烟草、抽吸和电子烟。

Tonka CARES致力于解决我们社区青少年中日益普遍的电子烟使用问题。2017年期间,明尼苏达州的青少年烟草使用量17年来首次上升,原因是电子烟/vape的使用。95%的成年烟民,在21岁之前就已经开始吸烟,我们必须改进策略,防止这种日益增长的趋势。支持"烟草21世纪"等政策,限制香精产品的销售,提高烟草产品的价格,是对抗这种日益增长趋势的重要环境策略。

4. 大麻

尽管研究支持大麻是一种门户药物,而且青少年使用大麻会导致智商下降,增加对心理健康问题的敏感性,并增加以后生活中药物使用障碍的发生率,但许多州正在通过法律使这种有害产品合法化。Tonka CARES致力于通过提供关于大麻使用及其与心理健康和药物使用障碍的准确、数据驱动的研究来解决对大麻危害的看法

5. 5. 酒精

虽然酒精的使用率一直在下降,但这种物质仍然是所有化学品中在青年中使用最广泛的一种。急性暴饮、日常滥用和危险行为,包括酒后驾车和无保护的性行为,使这种化学品每年对数百万人的生活产生负面影响。解决围绕着可获得性的问题、社会东道主条例和提高意识/教育,是改善这一持续的有害问题的关键目标。

幸福的学生站在高中公共场所

与我们联系,参与我们的活动

获得每周提醒、有趣的活动提示、吸引人的文章等!

facebook图标 微博标志

Judy Hanson
项目协调员
judy.hanson@minnetonkaschools.org
952-401-5056(服务台)

Initiatives

1. Youth Mental Wellness

Important mental health habits—including coping, resilience, and good judgment—help adolescents to achieve overall well-being and set the stage for positive mental health in adulthood. Mood swings are common during adolescence. However, research suggests one in five adolescents will suffer from a mental health disorder, such as depression, anxiety, substance use, or eating disorders. The goal of Tonka CARES is to build partnerships, increase education and awareness, and improve accessibility to resources surrounding mental wellness among youth in our community.

2. Opioids

As the both the nation and our community face the opioid epidemic, Tonka CARES is committed to changing the conversation and the outcome of opioid misuse and addiction in our community. Improving education and awareness, supporting appropriate medicinal use of prescribed medications, diminishing access, supporting early intervention, and medication assisted treatment, Tonka CARES is focused on improving prevention and to breaking down stigma and removing barriers for treatment of this deadly and preventable disease.

3. Tobacco, Vaping, & E-cigarettes

Tonka CARES is committed to addressing the increasing prevalence of e.cigarette use among youth in our community. Youth tobacco use rose for the first time in 17 years in the state of Minnesota during the 2017 year as a result of e.cigarette/vape use. With 95% of adult smokers, having started before the age of 21, it is essential we improve strategies to prevent this growing trend. Supporting policies like Tobacco 21, restricting the sale of flavored products, and increasing the price of tobacco products, is important in the fight against this growing trend.

4. Marijuana

Despite the fact that research supports that marijuana is a gateway drug, and that use in adolescents can result in diminished IQ, increased susceptibility of mental health issues, and increased prevalence of substance use disorders later in life, many states are adopting laws for the legalization of this harmful product. Tonka CARES is committed to addressing the perception of marijuana harms by providing accurate, data-driven research about the use of marijuana and its associations with mental health and substance use disorders.

5. Alcohol

While alcohol use rates have been on the decline, this substance is still one of the most widely used of all chemicals among youth. Acute binge drinking, daily misuse, and risky behaviors including drinking and driving and unprotected sex, allow this chemical to negatively impact the lives of millions each year. Addressing issues surrounding accessibility, social host ordinance, and improved awareness/education, are key goals to improving this ongoing, and detrimental problem.

Happy studets standing in the High School Commons

Connect with us to Participate

Get weekly reminders, fun activity tips, engaging articles and more!

facebook icon twitter logo

Kim Oelhafen
Project Director
kimberly.oelhafen@minnetonkaschools.org
952-401-5056 (desk)