النصب التذكاري للهيئة

التفاني في الهيئة

تم إزاحة الستار عن لوحة تذكارية لتكريم تسعة من خريجي مدرسة مينيتونكا الثانوية الذين قتلوا في العمليات أثناء خدمتهم في الجيش الأمريكي في 28 يوليو 2018 ، بالتزامن مع ريونيون كل من الدرجة الأولى في مدرسة مينيتونكا السنوية الخامسة. حضر أكثر من 200 من الأصدقاء والعائلة وموظفي Minnetonka هذا الحدث لإظهار بفخر أن هؤلاء المحاربين الشجعان سوف نتذكر دائما كما ربان.

بدأت فكرة النصب التذكاري عندما تم إدخال أحد المكرمين التسعة، مارتي بنسون '63، في العام الماضي في قاعة مشاهير سكيبس لإنجازاته الرياضية. عندما سمع زملاء مارتي أنه كان يحصل على جائزة الخريجين، اعتقد البعض أنه يجب أن تكون مرتبطة به بحياتها من أجل بلاده. وكان مارتي في الواقع معترف بها لفوزه في سباق 880 ياردة في الدولة المسار تلبية في عام 1963 ، وتحطيم رقما قياسيا 21 عاما.

يقع النصب التذكاري في MHS Commons ويتميز بالعلم الأمريكي وشعارات الخدمة العسكرية الخمس ولوحة تذكارية مع لوحات نحاسية محفورة بصور وأسماء المكرمين التسعة.

الخريجين التسعة المعترف بها لتقديم التضحية القصوى لبلادهم تشمل: كارل كولماير '56، هنري هامبتون '60، كريغ إيج '62، مارتي بنسون '63، بيرني تيسكي '63، ديل غرانجر '65، روجر كيتلسون '65، توماس كنوبيك '68، وجيرم أولسون '68. لقد قُتلوا جميعاً في حرب فيتنام

وتحدث المشرف الدكتور دينيس بيترسون في هذا الحدث، مشيرا إلى أن هذا النصب التذكاري سيكون له تأثير دائم. "إنه يعطي شرفا كبيرا لربان من الماضي. ومع ذلك، فإن هذا النصب التذكاري على الفور إعطاء معنى للطلاب الحاضر والمستقبل كذلك. وهذا تذكير بأن الحرية تأتي بتكلفة باهظة. الحاضر والمستقبل سوف يعرف الربان أسمائهم وتضحياتهم".

شاهد حفل التفاني

لم الشمل

في هذا القسم


الاتصال

الرئيس: دان هيلاند '74
السكرتيرة: ماريتا جاكوبسن '70
أمين الصندوق: مركز مفتوح

alumni@minnetonkaschools.org

جمعية خريجي مينيتونكا

صندوق بريد 103
اكسلسيور، MN 55331


تقديم هدية

 تقديم تبرع بالبريد


النصوص

طلب نسخ على الانترنت. هناك رسوم 5 دولار، تدفع عبر الإنترنت.


الحصول على الاجتماعية معنا

صفحة الفيسبوك MAA

KIA Memorial

KIA Dedication

A memorial plaque honoring nine Minnetonka High School graduates who were killed in action while serving in the U.S. military was unveiled on July 28, 2018, in tandem with the 5th annual Minnetonka All-School All-Class Reunion. Over 200 friends, family and Minnetonka staff members attended the event to proudly show that these brave veterans will always be remembered as Skippers.

The idea for the memorial began when one of the nine honorees, Marty Benson '63, was inducted last year into the Skippers Hall of Fame for his athletic achievements. When Marty's classmates heard that he was receiving an Alumni Award, some thought it must be related to him giving his life for his country. Marty was actually being recognized for winning the 880-yard race at the state track meet in 1963, shattering a 21-year-old record.

The memorial is located in the MHS Commons and features the American flag, the five military service emblems and a memorial plaque with brass plates engraved with photos and names of the nine honorees.

The nine graduates recognized for making the ultimate sacrifice for their country include: Carl Kollmeyer '56, Henry Hampton '60, Craig Egge '62, Marty Benson '63, Berni Teske '63, Dale Granger '65, Roger Kittleson '65, Thomas Knopik '68, and Jerome Olson '68. All were killed in the Vietnam War.

Superintendent Dr. Dennis Peterson spoke at the event, noting that this memorial will have a lasting impact. "It is giving great honor to Skippers of the past. However, this memorial will immediately give meaning to the present and future students as well. This is a reminder that freedom comes at a high cost. Present and future Skippers will know their names and their sacrifice."

Watch the Dedication Ceremony

Reunions

Contact

President: Dan Heiland '74
Secretary: Marietta Jacobsen '70
Treasurer: John Frees '67

alumni@minnetonkaschools.org

Minnetonka Alumni Association

P.O. Box 103
Excelsior, MN 55331


Transcripts

Order transcripts online. There is a $5 fee, payable online.


Get Social With Us

MAA Facebook Page