Award Honorees

2001-2002 Girls Soccer

The 2001-2002 Girls Soccer Team was unstoppable. They completed their regular season undefeated and won the Classic Lake Conference Title, the Section Championship and the 2001 Minnesota Class AA State Championship—the very first state title ever received by Minnetonka Girls Soccer.

Many of team's members began playing club soccer together at the age of 12 and were an extremely close-knit group. The 2001 Minnetonka Girls Soccer team included: Shelly Bury '02, Natalie (Coleman) Neil '02, Alyssa Crum '03, Leah Eide '03, Chelsea Gordan '02, Erin Horan '02, Becky Junkermeier '03, Katie Junkermeir '02, Allison (Kellogg) Kuhl '02, Shelby Lieffers '05, Lindsey MacDonald '04, Courtney Michel '02, Lauren (Moore) Moberg '02, Maggie (Olson) Porter '02, Nancy Powaga '02, Lauren (Ruegemer) Snover '02, Amy (Seubert) Dawson '04, Molly (Shelp) Barkus '03, Brooke (Sherer) Livingston '04, Caitlyn (Welle) Pulitzer '03, manager Steve Boran '03,  coach Kieran Monaghan and assistant coach Andy Moll. Making it to the State Championship was a goal the team had since their middle school days.

“This team played with a speed and competitive edge that made it stand out from other teams,” said Head Coach Kieran Monaghan. “In every minute of every game, the players showed a determination and intensity that other teams just could not match, no matter how hard they tried.” Assistant Coach Andy Moll added that, “These girls played every game with joy, and teamwork was at the center of what they did.”

The team’s outstanding chemistry was clearly evident throughout the entire season, and continued to increase with each additional win. Yet, for the players and coaches, they remember much more than just their victories.

“My favorite part of being part of the 2001 girls soccer team was the people with which I shared this extraordinary soccer season,” said Co-Captain Katie Junkermeier '02. “Everyone was positive and supportive of one another, and we had a good work ethic. Most importantly, we had a lot of fun together throughout the season.”

The team also established a Minnesota State Record for most consecutive games won, with a total of 26 games between 2001-2002 and was ranked 12th by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA).

“This award is a testament to the outstanding group of students who dedicated so much of their young lives to becoming the best soccer players they could be,” said Monaghan.



Read More

David Gartner

Inducted into the Faculty Hall of Fame on September 23, 2023.

Earl Christ

Inducted into the Faculty Hall of Fame on September 23, 2023.

Bill Keeler

Inducted into the Faculty Hall of Fame on September 24, 2022.