Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame

Minnetonka Community Education (MCE) is excited to premier the Inaugural Class of the 2020 MCE Hall of Fame with the attached Video! Today we honor three individuals who have made a lasting, positive impact on MCE, Minnetonka Schools and the communities we serve. Please join us as we virtually celebrate the Inaugural Minnetonka Community Education Class of 2020 Hall of Fame inductees.

Lynn Johnson

Lynn Johnson’s role as a volunteer has been instrumental in support of many of MCE’s signature events, including the Tonka Youth Triathlon, Tour de Tonka and, as former Mayor of Excelsior, she helped to bring the Excelsior Firecracker Run to MCE in 2014. In fact, Lynn is the founder of the Firecracker Run, some 45 years ago. Lynn continues to take an active role in all MCE events. Lynn also serves as a member of the MCE Advisory Council and is a past chair of the advisory council.

Jim Jones

Jim Jones served as the Director of MCE from its inception in 1973 until 1996. He ran the program with energy and enthusiasm. He enlisted the support of volunteers, leaders and residents of the ten cities encompassed in the District as well as the community education staff. Jim set the standard for strong programming and community involvement that continues today.

Lois Norby

Lois Norby served as Coordinator of Volunteer Programs at Minnetonka Community Education throughout the 80s and 90s. Lois worked within the District to recruit residents of all ages to volunteer time in classrooms and organize community support for referenda, while identifying potential leadership to support the Minnetonka mission throughout the District. Lois’s work at bringing speakers and creating partnerships in our schools was legendary.

We are Minnetonka Community Ed

MCE Logo

MCE will nominate another group of Hall of Fame inductees in Spring 2022.