Feature Stories

2019 Minnetonka Awards for Child-Centered Excellence Winners
2019 Minnetonka Awards for Child-Centered Excellence Winners

Join Us!
Celebration of Excellence Awards Event
Thursday, May 16
Reception 6 p.m. | Program 7-8:30 p.m.
MHS Arts Center

Awards for Child-Centered Excellence in Teaching

  • Liz Leingang, Clear Springs Elementary
  • Emily Langan, Deephaven Elementary
  • Tarah Cummings, Excelsior Elementary
  • Jessica Stephens, Groveland Elementary
  • Carly Brown, Minnewashta Elementary
  • Allison Wachutka, Scenic Heights Elementary
  • Lisa Turner, Minnetonka Community Education Center
  • Anna Schoeneberger, Minnetonka Middle School East
  • Courtney Ziebarth, Minnetonka Middle School West
  • Beowulf Boswell, Minnetonka High School
  • Stephanie Lolich, Minnetonka High School

2020 Minnesota Teacher of the Year Nominees

  • Beowulf Boswell, Minnetonka High School
  • Tarah Cummings, Excelsior Elementary

Employee Awards for Child-Centered Excellence

  • Pete Dymit, Principal, Minnetonka Middle School East
  • Ann Foss, Nurse
  • Lynda Hartmann, Paraprofessional, Minnetonka Middle School East
  • Zina Hilgers, Cook Manager, Minnewashta Elementary
  • Debbie Kopischke, Paraprofessional, Groveland
  • Kathryn Larsen, Receptionist/Communications Assistant, District Service Center
  • Randy Phillips, Head Custodian, Minnetonka Community Education Center
  • Nicholas Pyzdrowski, Assistant Site Leader for Explorers Club, Minnetonka Community Education Center

Team Award for Excellence in Child-Centered Collaboration

Minnetonka High School Kitchen Staff, which includes Patricia Brandt, Eleanor Brown, Lita Cantin, Sue Dubois, Laurie Dutton, Becky Gehrke, Katherine Hansen, Dana Ketts, Sui Kiang, Sharla Koski, Pamela Laland, Kimberly Lundgren, Drew Murphy, Derek Nelson, Jennifer Niland, Douglas Reitan, Angela Sammon, Jacki Schelling, Darryl Schorle, Christie Schweiger, Julie Thompson, Deb Waldenmaier and Sheri Weisser

Spinnaker Awards

  • Alerus Financial
  • Dan Book, Owner, Maple Grove Cycle
  • Jana Budke, District Volunteer
  • John Groton, District Finance Advisory Committee
  • Heidi Nauman, District Volunteer
  • Ingrid Roberts, Excelsior Elementary and District Volunteer

VANTAGE Gold Partner Awards

  • Jackie Gibney/Jacobs Marketing
  • Anne Spaeth/The Lynhall

Bradley G. Board Award for Excellence in Elementary Education

  • Paul Johnson, Kindergarten Teacher at Groveland Elementary

Charlie Parnell Memorial Award for Excellence in Special Education

  • Mary Miller, ECSE Coordinator

Joyce Gustafson Memorial Award

  • Angie Kallman (posthumously), MME math teacher

Community Education Volunteer/Business Partner Awards

  • Laura Howting Geislinger, Early Childhood Award
  • Greg Towne, Youth Award
  • Davenport Family (Jeff, Jason, Colton & Cathy Davenport), Volunteer Family of the Year
  • Jessie Jacobson/Tonkadale Nursery, Organization/Business Partner Award

Employee Service Awards 20 Years

  • Susanne Alexander
  • Julia Antonsen
  • Nicole Berwanger
  • Debra Black, Beowulf Boswell
  • Robin Chandler
  • Diane Cody
  • Carol Erickson
  • Robert Ewing
  • Ann Foss
  • Sally Gadbois
  • Anne Holmberg
  • Timothy Ketel
  • Robyn Klinker
  • Katherine Krantz
  • Dawn Leyk
  • Lisa Lund
  • Chet Masteller
  • Kelly McCashin
  • Bryan McGinley
  • Jena Menke
  • Jane Meyer
  • Melanie Mozingo
  • Denise Nelson
  • Christie Nugent
  • Steven Nugent
  • Robin O'Meara
  • Jodi Paulson
  • Julie Schweitzer
  • Jennifer Stepan
  • Jennifer Syverson
  • Cathleen Taber
  • Dana Teller
  • Heidi Volkart
  • Deborah Waldenmaier
  • Deborah Zachman

Employee Service Awards 25 Years

  • Michele Abel
  • Jennifer Cho
  • Anthony DeLorenzo
  • Jeffrey Erickson
  • Mayo Hart
  • Deborah Kanan
  • Jennifer Kimball
  • Jennifer Kitt
  • Pamela Melby
  • Kristine Pakkala
  • Cheryl Peterson
  • Elisabeth Reisenauer
  • Mary Renz
  • Michelle Zilmer

Employee Service Awards 30 Years

  • Susan Bonnema
  • Peggy Glaccum
  • Jim Gosewisch
  • Connie Kensinger
  • Susan Koehnen
  • Carol Simmer
  • Bette Tjornhom

Employee Service Awards 35 Years

  • Ronald Mehus
  • Dawayne Ramsey

In this Section

Read more

Tonka Nordic Ski Team Takes on Summer

Despite the lack of snow, Tonka Nordic Racing (TNR) is taking on summer in full flight. Holding captain's practices from June to August, TNR is staying in shape and working on techniques during the off-season, all while staying socially distant and safe.

Celebrating the Class of 2020

Minnetonka Schools has turned to innovation in order to celebrate the amazing achievement of our Class of 2020 graduates.

Virtual Solar Sprint Car Race

The Groveland Solar Sprint inspires fifth grade students to get creative and work together to solve problems and learn about the science behind how the cars they build work.

Virtual Glass Menagerie

The cast of The Glass Menagerie - the winter One Act play - put on a free livestream performance for viewers to watch from the comfort of their own homes.