目标2:卓越和归属感

多样性。公平。包容。

Minnetonka學校董事會和學區管理層相信,致力於多元化、公平、包容、世界級文化和以兒童為中心的優質教育,能加強Minnetonka公立學校的實力。 我们致力于加深我们对学业成绩中的种族和社会经济因素的理解,并发现新的策略来缩小所有的成绩差距。 我们相信,对学校有归属感或联系感的学生,更有可能在课堂内外获得成功。 在这个目标中,归属感被定义为一种强烈的积极联系感,作为明尼托卡学校社区的一员,被接受和重要,无论种族,宗教,性别,性取向,原籍国和社会经济地位如何。 我们致力于不懈努力,为所有学生提供一个感到安全、受欢迎、支持和接受的学校环境。

明尼顿卡学校董事会为本区制定了以下一系列可衡量的、有意义的、有目的的行动步骤,以促进学校的归属感。 我们致力于采取行动,并做出必要的改变。 我们期待与学生、家长、员工和社区成员合作,共同完成这项重要工作。 這項工作不會單獨進行,而是需要深思熟慮。校董會和學區領導層將懷著同情心聆聽、審視我們自己的偏見,並決定我們可以做些什麼來幫助確保所有學生、家庭和職員感到安全和被接受。 我們將成為解決方案的一部分,以身作則,繼續聆聽和學習。 我们对归属感和以儿童为中心的卓越承诺将是我们所有努力的基础。

这将是一项多年的工作。在2020-2021学年,该区将:

  • 出版《Minnetonka卓越和归属感承诺》,详细说明学区对多样性、公平、包容和卓越的信念和承诺。这项工作将于2020年9月完成。
  • 为这些工作发布一个行动计划、资源指南和网站。 最初的资源将在2020年9月之前提供,并将在整个学年进行更新。这将包括但不限于分享通过"成功障碍"和"重塑明尼苏达"方案所做的工作。
  • 用多样性、公平、包容和卓越的视角,对董事会的愿景和地区政策#504、514、534、604、607进行深入审查。
  • 关于归属感委员会工作的报告。 报告将于2020年10月、2021年2月和2021年5月提交给学校董事会。 报告将包括行动建议。这将包括增加小学和中学一级的委员会。
  • 评估课程审查过程/政策#606,以确保它包含多样性、公平、包容和卓越。 这项工作将在2020年12月前完成,并提交董事会批准。修订后的程序将用于2021年1月开始的课程审查工作。在此期间,在课程存在差距的地方酌情增加材料。   
  • 为所有工作人员、学生和学校董事会成员举办至少两次关于多样性、公平、包容和卓越的强制性培训课程。每学期将完成一次培训。该区将把培训纳入工作人员和学校董事会的入职活动中。
  • 制定一项行动计划,与学生、家长、员工、校友和社区成员合作。这可能包括倾听会议、调查、报告工具和后续机制等工作。还将包括一个报告多样性、公平和包容方面问题和关切的系统。
  • 在每栋楼里确定一个或多个工作人员资源,以支持归属感倡议。 确保学生了解并获得这些资源。
  • 审查招聘活动,以进一步促进雇用具有不同背景的工作人员,特别是BIPOC和LGBTQIA+的人员,通过多样化的观点、身份和经验丰富所有学生的学习环境。为此,至少开展三次招聘活动。

Goal 2: Excellence and Belonging

Diversity. Equity. Inclusion.

The Minnetonka School Board and District Administration believe a commitment to diversity, equity, inclusion, world class culture and child-centered excellence strengthens Minnetonka Public Schools.  We are committed to deepening our understanding of racial and socio-economic factors in academic performance and discovering new strategies for closing all achievement gaps.  We believe that students who feel a sense of belonging or connectedness to their school are more likely to experience success inside and outside the classroom.  Belonging is defined in this goal as a strong feeling of positive connection, acceptance and importance as a member of the Minnetonka Schools community, regardless of race, religion, gender, sexual orientation, country of origin, and socioeconomic status.  We are dedicated to working tirelessly to providing a school environment where all students feel safe, welcome, supported and accepted.

The Minnetonka School Board has developed a series of measurable, meaningful and intentional action steps below for the District to promote belonging in our schools.  We are committed to action and to making necessary changes.  We look forward to partnering with students, parents, staff and community members on this important work.  It will not be done in isolation and will require thoughtful consideration. The School Board and District leadership will listen with compassion, examine our own biases and determine what we also can do to help to ensure all students, families and staff feel safe and accepted.  We will be a part of the solution, lead by example and continue to listen and learn.  Our commitment to belonging and child-centered excellence will be the foundation for all our efforts.

This will be a multi-year endeavor. In the 2020-2021 school year, the District will:

  • Publish the Minnetonka Commitment for Excellence and Belonging which will detail the District’s beliefs and commitment to diversity, equity, inclusion and excellence. This will be completed by September 2020.
  • Publish an Action Plan, Resource Guide and Website for these efforts.  The initial resources will be available by September 2020, and updates will be made throughout the school year. This will include, but will not be limited to, sharing the work done through the Barriers to Success and Reimagine Minnesota programs.
  • Conduct an in-depth review of board vision and district policies #504, 514, 534, 604, 607 using a lens of diversity, equity, inclusion and excellence.
  • Report on the efforts of the Committee on Belonging.  Reports will be delivered to the School Board in October 2020; February 2021; and May 2021.  Reports will include recommendations for actions. This will include an addition of committees for the elementary and middle school levels.
  • Evaluate the curriculum review process/Policy #606 to ensure it embraces diversity, equity, inclusion and excellence.  This will be completed by December 2020 and brought to the Board for approval. The revised process will be utilized in curriculum review work beginning in January 2021. Add materials as appropriate where there are gaps in the curriculum in the interim.   
  • Conduct a minimum of two mandatory training sessions for all staff, students and school board members regarding diversity, equity, inclusion and excellence. One session will be completed in each semester. The District will incorporate training in staff and school board onboarding activities.
  • Develop an action plan to partner with students, parents, staff, alumni and community members. This may include efforts such as listening sessions, surveys, reporting tools and follow-up mechanisms. A system to report issues and concerns with diversity, equity and inclusion will also be included.
  • Determine a staff resource or resources in each building to support belonging initiatives.  Ensure students are aware and have access to these resources.
  • Review hiring activities to further promote hiring staff with diverse backgrounds, particularly people who are BIPOC and LGBTQIA+, to enrich the learning environment for all students by way of diversified perspectives, identities and experiences. Conduct a minimum of three recruiting activities aimed at this effort.