Bradley G. Board Award for Excellence in Elementary Education

Sponsored by Brad Board and the Minnetonka Public Schools Foundation, the Bradley G. Board award recognizes excellence and achievement in an elementary teacher/mentor who has a great impact on children. The monetary award is meant to encourage ongoing teaching and learning and assist in the pursuit of the recipient’s interests.

Award criteria

  1. Elementary teacher or professional staff person
  2. Evidence of excellence and achievement
  3. Recognized by colleagues and others as an outstanding elementary educator

The tribute will consist of a plaque in recognition of the award, and a monetary sum of $500 from the Bradley G. Board Fund, Minnetonka Public Schools Foundation. The use of the funds will not be restricted.

Nomination process

  • Any Minnetonka employee, parent, student or community member may make the nomination. Self-nominations are not accepted. Elementary teachers nominated for Child-Centered Excellence Awards will automatically be considered.
  • The nomination shall include:
    • Nominator’s name, address and phone number
    • Nominee’s name and elementary school
    • A brief essay not to exceed 250 words.
  • The selection will be made by a committee of the Minnetonka Public Schools Foundation.

Past award recipients

  • 2024 - Jayna Rafferty, Excelsior Elementary (watch video)
  • 2023 - Brent Frank, Groveland Elementary (watch video)
  • 2022 - Jane Sladky Valley, Deephaven Elementary (watch video)
  • 2021 - Rachel Norton, Deephaven Elementary (watch video)
  • 2020 - Cristina Darbut, Clear Springs  Elementary
  • 2019 - Paul Johnson, Groveland (watch video)
  • 2018 - Andreas Lundheim, Clear Springs (watch video)
  • 2017 - Trudy Schnorr, Groveland (watch video)
  • 2016 - Kay Ost, Deephaven (watch video)
  • 2015 - Daryl Seifert, Groveland Elementary (watch video)
  • 2014 - Kelly Phillips, Clear Springs
  • 2013 - Sue Odt, Groveland Elementary
  • 2012 - Jeanne Krake, Scenic Heights Elementary
  • 2011 - Lynn Owens, Deephaven Elementary
  • 2010 - Sandy Katkov, Scenic Heights Elementary
  • 2009 - Laura Whalen, Minnewashta Elementary
  • 2008 - Colleen Small, Groveland Elementary
  • 2007 - Mary Beth Solheim, Special Education Teacher
  • 2006 - Debbie Engel, Clear Springs Elementary

Nominations are currently closed.