Student Support

Our Minnetonka High School Counselors, School Social Workers, School Psychologist and Chemical Health Specialist are available to support students and families with mental health questions or concerns. If you have questions or are facing challenging times, don't hesitate to call or stop in the Counseling Office for support. Your school counselors can be your first stop when concerns arise.

MHS Counseling Support Groups

Concerned Persons Group
This is a support group for teens who have a parent/guardian with an active alcohol or drug use problem. The focus of the group is how to practice good self-care and coping skills while living in a stressful family situation with an impaired parent. For more information, please contact Melissa.Feller@minnetonkaschools.org or Isabella.Hopwood@minnetonkaschools.org.

Grief Group
The Grief Group is open to any student who has experienced the death of a loved one. The group is co-sponsored by the "Growing Through Grief" School Support Program offered by Methodist Hospital and the Park Nicollet Foundation. For more information, please contact Mary.Wiig@minnetonkaschools.org.

Compass Support Groups (formerly known as Mini School Groups)
The Compass groups work to support Compass students in the issues they face every day. Through speakers, group learning, and shared experience, these students grow in the understanding of themselves and the world around them. For more information, please contact Renee.Morabito@minnetonkaschools.org.

MHS Support Clubs

OFFENSE
Organization for Foreign Exchange and New Students (OFFENSE) is a student organization with the mission to promote positive school experiences and connectedness for students new to the Minnetonka High School community. If you are a Foreign Exchange Student or a student who is new to MHS in grades 10-12, the OFFENSE club is a great opportunity for you! For more information, please contact Katie.Johnson@minnetonkaschools.org or Christina.Taylor@minnetonkaschools.org.

Men of Color and Women of Color
The group’s mission is to “enrich the lives of young men and women by challenging their thinking to produce change.” The men and women will have the freedom to speak and interact with each other. The intention is to encourage friendship and accountability without the fear of being judged. For more information about Men of Color, please contact David.Bierly@minnetonkaschools.org or Dan.Marek@minnetonkaschools.org. For more information about Women of Color, please contact Melissa.Feller@minnetonkaschools.org.

Students from the Class of 2017 on Decision Day


Crisis Hotlines

  • Crisis Connection - 24 hour Crisis Phone Line: 612-370-6363
  • Acute Psychiatric Services (formerly the Crisis Intervention Center): 612-873-3161
  • Carver/Scott County Mobile Crisis Services: 952-442-7601
  • Hennepin County Mobile Crisis Services – Child: 612-348-2233
  • Suicide Hotline: 612-873-2222 (local) National Hotline: 1-800-273-8255