学术成就

明尼顿卡的文凭是学术和个人最高成就的象征。
-明尼顿卡学校董事会愿景

我们的毕业生是多年来卓越教学、丰富的表现机会、数千美元的社区投资以及高水平的社区自豪感和支持的受益者。毕业率、ACT成绩和大学入学机会提供了衡量我们从幼儿期到十二年级高度成功的学校系统的证据。

在过去的15年里,随着我们对学术课程的专注和有意识的改进,Minnetonka的学生们表现出色,导致每个年级的成绩都达到了历史最高水平。事实上,2015届学生的ACT平均成绩为26.9分,是学校的最高分,但我们目前的小学生还将取得更好的成绩。

ACT_Slide

ACT大学入学考试是衡量成功与否的重要标准,因为它对学生的未来起着重要作用。ACT成绩越高,学生被心仪大学录取的比率就越高,可能会获得更多的奖学金和经济援助;同时也能为学生打开通往更多机会的大门。研究表明,ACT越高,长期的经济效益越大,但更重要的是,如果学生没有接触过严格的高中课程,对学习的期望值不高,就不会取得高的ACT成绩。所以,随着学区的ACT成绩多年来的上升,是明尼顿卡高中的课程更具挑战性,所有学生都有更多机会的结果。

在增加学生成功机会的机会中,高级预科课程和国际文凭课程让学生在高中时就能挑战自己的大学水平课程。研究表明:在高中时就参加AP或IB课程学习的学生更有可能完成大学学位,即使只是一门课程。在MHS 2015届学生中,70%的学生在高三时至少参加了一门AP或IB课程。近年来,AP和IB课程的参与率显著增加,因为我们的小学和初中为学生在高中达到更高的水平做了更好的准备。

明尼特卡的学生平均成绩如何?

凭借卓越的教师、以研究为基础的课程、强大的家长和社区支持以及对学生成绩的高期望值,明尼顿卡的普通学生表现出色。小学毕业时,五年级学生的阅读和数学成绩与全国标准相比,平均超过了11年级的水平。在初中,平均学生的阅读和数学成绩高于全国第80名。在高中,平均学生在四年中的某个时间点报名参加AP或IB课程,84%的MHS AP考试获得3分或以上。明尼顿卡高中的平均学生去年毕业时,ACT成绩为26.9,GPA为3.3。

NWEA_Achievement_Graphic(图文)

Minnetonka的高水平学术成就始于小学阶段坚实的阅读和数学基础。当学生在幼儿园进入我们的学校时,大多数学生的成绩与全国同龄人持平。然而,在他们的小学阶段,会出现显著的增长。大多数学生在一年的时间里获得了超过一年的学习成长。在一年级结束时,普通学生的阅读和数学水平在2-3年级之间。3年级时又有一年半的成长,大部分学生的数学和阅读达到5年级的水平。在4年级和5年级都会出现一个重要的学业"成长高峰",学生每学年都会加速3年。因此,根据NWEA的国家标准,到小学结束时,Minnetonka五年级学生的平均阅读和数学成绩达到了11年级的水平。

如此高的成绩在明通卡并不是一直以来的常态。当2015届学生在读五年级时,与国家标准相比,平均学生的表现是在八年级开始。不过,2015届学生的ACT平均成绩仍为26.9,是学校最高的。所以,这就不难理解为什么我们说"最好的还在后面"。

学生活动

Academic Achievement

A Minnetonka diploma is a symbol of academic and personal achievement of the highest order.
-Minnetonka School Board Vision

Our graduates are the beneficiaries of years of excellence in teaching, abundant opportunities to excel, thousands of dollars of community investment, and high levels of community pride and support. Graduation rates, ACT scores and collegiate doors of opportunity provide evidence for measuring our highly successful school system, from early childhood through 12th grade.

Over the past 15 years, with focused and intentional improvements to our academic program, Minnetonka students have excelled, leading to all-time high levels of achievement at every grade level. In fact, the Class of 2015 posted the school's highest average ACT score at 26.9, but our current elementary school students are on pace to do even better.

The ACT college entrance exam is an important measure of success because it plays an important role in a student's future. With a higher ACT, students improve their rates of admission to the colleges of their choice and may receive more scholarships and financial aid; it can also open doors to more opportunities. Studies have shown there is a greater economic benefit long-term the higher the ACT, but more importantly, students don't achieve a high ACT score if they haven't been exposed to a rigorous high school curriculum with high expectations for learning. So, as the District's ACT score has risen over the years, it is the result of a more challenging curriculum at Minnetonka High School with more opportunities for all students.

Among the opportunities that increase a student's chance of success are the Advanced Placement and International Baccalaureate programs, which allow students to challenge themselves with college-level coursework while still in high school. Research is clear: Students who take AP or IB coursework while in high school are more likely to complete their college degree– even if it is only one course. Among the MHS Class of 2015, 70% were enrolled in at least one AP or IB course during their senior year. Participation in AP and IB courses has grown significantly in recent years, as our elementary and middle schools better prepare students to reach a higher level in high school.

How is the average student doing in Minnetonka?

With exceptional teachers, a research-based curriculum, strong parent and community support, and high expectations for student achievement, average students in Minnetonka excel. By the end of elementary school, the average 5th grader is performing beyond the 11th grade level in reading and math compared to national norms. In middle school, the average student is above the 80th percentile nationally in reading and math. In high school, the average student enrolls in AP or IB courses at some point during their four years, and 84% of all MHS AP exams earn a three or higher. The average student at Minnetonka High School graduated last year with a 26.9 ACT and a 3.3 GPA.


The high level of academic achievement in Minnetonka begins with a strong foundation in reading and math at the elementary level. When students enter our schools in kindergarten, most are on par with their peers nationally. However, during their elementary school years, remarkable growth occurs. Most students gain more than a year's academic growth in a year's time. At the end of 1st grade, the average student is between a 2nd and 3rd grade level in reading and math. With another year-and-a-half growth in 3rd grade, most students reach the 5th grade level in math and reading. A significant academic "growth spurt" occurs in both 4th and 5th grade, when students accelerate three years each school year. So, by the end of elementary school, the average Minnetonka 5th grader is achieving at the 11th grade level in reading and math according to NWEA national norms.

Such a high level of achievement has not always been the norm in Minnetonka. When the Class of 2015 was in 5th grade, the average student was performing at the beginning of 8th grade compared to national norms. Still, the Class of 2015 posted the school's highest average ACT at 26.9. So it is easy to understand why we say, "the best is yet to come."