适应性体育

明尼托卡的适应性体育活动是与明尼苏达适应性体育协会(MAAA)合作提供的。明尼苏达州适应性体育协会的使命是为残疾青年提供与其他学生相同的机会,使他们能够享受优质高中体育项目的好处。

我们的适应性运动项目包括:

  • 足球(秋季)
  • 地面曲棍球(冬季)
  • 垒球(春季)
  • 保龄球(春季)

参与准则。

分为两处。

  • CI部是为有认知障碍(智商70或以下)的学生设立的。
  • PI部是为身体有缺陷的学生准备的。

年龄在22岁以下、在7至12年级全额注册的学生或未分年级的学生,在他们或他们的同龄人上7年级时就有资格。他们最多可以参加8个学期的学习。

球队由Minnetonka学区和Wayzata学区合作赞助,昵称为"Lakers"。训练是在放学后,在Minnetonka或Wayzata学区的设施中进行。教练与学生一起参加当地比赛、分区季后赛和州级比赛。

登记:

本活动是明尼顿卡高中的活动,与特殊教育部无关。本活动的报名是通过明尼顿卡高中活动办公室进行的(与所有明尼顿卡高中活动的时间表/期望值相同)。

"残疾学生希望在学校运动队中打球,获得校队徽章,穿上字母外套,并作为学生运动员得到同龄人的认可。"明尼苏达州高中联盟副执行主任John Bartz

Adapted Athletics

Adapted athletics in Minnetonka are offered in partnership with the Minnesota Adapted Athletics Association (MAAA). The mission of MAAA is to provide youth with disabilities the same opportunity as other students to enjoy the benefits of a quality high school sports program.

Our adapted athletic program includes:

  • Soccer (fall)
  • Floor hockey (winter)
  • Softball (spring)
  • Bowling (spring)

Participation Guidelines:

There are two divisions:

  • The CI Division is for students with a cognitive impairment (IQ 70 or below).
  • The PI Division is for students with a physical impairment.

Students who are under 22 years of age and fully enrolled in grades 7 through 12 or in an ungraded setting are first eligible when they or their peers are in the seventh grade. They are eligible for a maximum of eight semesters.

The team is cooperatively sponsored by the Minnetonka School District and the Wayzata School District and the nickname is "The Lakers". Practices are after school at a facility in the Minnetonka or Wayzata school district. Coaches work with students to compete in local games, sectional playoffs and state competition.

To register:

This is a Minnetonka High School Activity and is not connected to the Special Education Department. Registration for this activity takes place through the Minnetonka High School Activities Office (same timelines/expectations as all MHS activities).

"Students with disabilities want to play on school athletic teams, earn varsity letters, wear letter jackets and be recognized by their peers as student-athletes.”-John Bartz, Minnesota State High School League, Associate Executive Director