在家的人

概述和准则

医疗原因

我们有责任为因长期生病或受伤而无法到校上课的学生提供教学计划。必须向任何学生提供教育服务,如果:

  1. 连续15天不得到正常学校上课;或
  2. 根据安置机构,如医生、心理学家、精神病学家、法官或其他法院指定的机构,预计将连续15天不在正常学校上课(需要书面证明);或
  3. 健康受损,需要接受特殊教育,并且被个人教育计划小组预测将间歇性地离开正常学校15天。

(《明尼苏达州规则》第3525.2325条)

只有在学生不在正常班级上课期间,才能提供上门辅导,而且必须由持证教师提供。根据明尼苏达州教育部人事执照处的规定,没有标准执照和只有短期代课执照的教师没有资格担任家庭教师,除非他们是为正规的家庭教师预留时间。

一旦学生恢复正常上课或学年结束,就不能再错过会员(出勤)天数,可以通过在家教学来弥补和申请(MARSS手册,2010年)一旦学生回到学校全职上课,就不能接受不能上学期间没有安排的任何时间的在家教学。

通过在家指导申请的每个会员日必须提供一小时的一对一在家指导。一小时的在家指导不需要每天进行;学生每天缺课的总时数可以是每天一小时(MARSS手册,2010年)。

返校教师的时间安排应根据学生和教师的日程表来制定。授课地点也是由在家的教师和学生(和/或家长,如适用)决定的,通常是在一个中立的地点,如公共图书馆。如果双方都能接受,也可以将教学安排在学生家中进行。

住院的学生;

学业指导由医院所在区通过一对一、小组教学或医院项目中的教育内容进行。

非医疗原因。

如果个体化教育计划(IEP)小组认为这符合学生的最佳利益,那么有特殊教育需求的学生有时也会被安排在家接受教育。學生的個別教育計劃必須修改,以反映出在家教學的情況。除非IEP小组另有规定,否则学生不在他/她的正规学校上课的每一天,都会有一小时的一对一教学。

程序

一旦校长、指定的楼宇寄宿联络人或个案经理意识到由于长期生病或IEP小组的决定而需要在家授课,应立即采取以下步骤。请注意,这些步骤必须在缺课的第16天之前进行。

  • 完成"個別教學申請表",包括教師/職員資料。將表格傳真給學區服務中心的Kristin Laughlin,電話952-401-5032。此表格將被簽署,並傳真回學校作建築記錄。
  • 请联系家庭教师库中的一位家庭教师(除非学生的普通教育或特殊教育教师可以/愿意提供指导),并协调服务。请向指导老师提供以下信息
    • 学生和家长的姓名及其电话号码。
    • 预计在家授课的时间。
    • 工作人员联系人和电话号码/电子邮件。
    • 教师姓名和电话,以便讨论或获取学生的课程和家庭作业(如果与联系人不同)。
    • 关于课程设置和作业接送等任何其他信息。
  • 告知家长家庭教师的姓名和联系方式。
  • 根据情况将学生的在家情况通知给学生的老师和考勤办公室。
  • 监控学生的在家状态,当学生返校或在其他学校注册时,通知在家的教师/家教、考勤办公室和DSC的Beth Erickson。
  • 指导老师信息

除非学生目前的常规和/或特殊教育教师可以完成在家授课,否则应该从在家教师名单中联系在家教师。所有的在家教师都需要向学区提交一份完整的档案,其中包括在与学区合作之前的背景调查。

特殊教育学生将需要一名有执照的特殊教育教员,至少有一部分教学时间,详见学生的个人教育计划。如有必要,这部分教学时间可由持证的普通教育教师和特殊教育教师分担。

除了一些付款的一般信息外,在家上课的教师将得到一份这些准则的副本。在家辅导的时间表可以从Beth Erickson那里获得,并应交还给她处理和付款。在家辅导的每小时收费标准在现行的明尼顿卡教师协会主协议中规定。


问题/关注

如有关于家庭教育和家庭辅导的一般问题,请联系Kristin Laughlin,电话952-401-5087或kristin.laughlin@minnetonkaschools.org

有关在家的表格和/或时间表的问题,请联系Beth Erickson,电话:952-401-501-5013或beth.erickson@minnetonkaschools.org

或通过"我们来谈谈"提交问题、评论或赞美。有人会在一个工作日内回复。

Homebound

Overview and Guidelines

Medical Reasons

We have the responsibility to provide a program of instruction to students who are unable to attend class at school due to extended illness or injury. Educational services must be provided to any student who is:

  1. Prevented from attending their normal school site for 15 consecutive days; or
  2. Predicted to be absent from the normal school site for 15 consecutive school days according to the placing authority such as a medical doctor, psychologist, psychiatrist, judge, or other court appointed authority ( written verification is needed; or
  3. Health-impaired and in need of special education and predicted by the IEP team to be absent from the normal school site for 15 intermittent school days

(Minnesota Rule 3525.2325)

Homebound instruction may be provided only during the period students are absent from regular classes and must be provided by a licensed teacher. Per the Minnesota Department of Education Personnel Licensing Division, teachers who do not have a standard license and only have a short call substitute license are not eligible to work as homebound tutors unless they are reserving for the regular homebound teacher.

Once students return to attend the normal classroom or the school year ends, no further missed membership (attendance) days may be made up and claimed through homebound instruction (MARSS Manual, 2010) Once students return to school full time they cannot receive homebound instruction for any hours that they have not been scheduled during the time they were unable to attend school.

One hour of one-one homebound instruction must be provided for each membership day claimed through homebound instruction. The one hour of home bound instruction does not need to take place each day; the total hours of instruction may be one hour per day for each day the student is absent from school (MARSS Manual, 2010).

The scheduling of homebound instructors should be developed in accordance with the student’s and the instructor’s calendar. The location of the instruction is also determined by the homebound instructor and the student (and /or parents as applicable), and most often takes place at a neutral location such as the public library. Instruction may also be scheduled at the student’s home if that is acceptable to both parties.

Hospitalized Students:

Academic instruction is provided by the district where the hospital is located either through one-to-one, small group instruction, or through an educational component of the hospital program.

Non-Medical Reasons:

Students with special education needs are also sometimes placed on homebound status by their Individualized Education Program (IEP) team if the team determines it is in the student’s best interest. The student’s IEP must be modified to reflect homebound instruction. One hour of one-to-one instruction is provided for each day the student does not attend his/her regular school, unless otherwise specified by the IEP team.

Procedures

As soon as the principal, designated building homebound contact person, or the case manager becomes aware that homebound instruction is needed because of an extended illness or an IEP team decision, the following steps should be followed. Note that these steps must occur prior to the 16th day of absence:

  • Complete the Request for Individual Instruction form, including the teacher/staff information. Fax it to Shelly Hayes at the District Service Center at 952-401-5032. The form will be signed and faxed back to the school for the building records.
  • Contact one of the homebound instructors from the homebound instructor pool (Unless the student’s general or special education teacher is available/willing to provide the instruction), and coordinate the services. Please provide the instructor with the following information
    • Student and parent’s name and their phone number(s).
    • Anticipated length of the homebound instruction.
    • Staff contact person and phone number/email.
    • Teacher name(s) and telephone number to discuss or obtain student’s curriculum and homework, if different than the contact person.
    • Any additional information regarding curriculum and homework pick-up drop-off etc.
  • Inform the parents of the homebound instructor’s name and contact information.
  • Inform the student’s teachers and the attendance office of the student’s homebound status as applicable.
  • Monitor the homebound status and inform the homebound instructor/home tutor, the attendance office and Beth Erickson at the DSC, when the student returns to school or enrolls in another school.
  • Instructor Information

Homebound instructors should be contacted from the homebound instructor list unless one of the student’s current regular and/or special education instructors is available to complete the homebound instruction. All homebound instructors need to have a completed file with the district, which includes a background check prior to working with the district.

Special education students will need a licensed special education instructor, for at least a portion of the instruction, as detailed in the student’s IEP. This instruction time can be divided between a licensed general and special education instructor, if needed.

Homebound instructors will be given a copy of these guidelines, in addition to some general information for payment. Timesheets for homebound instruction can be obtained from Beth Erickson and should be returned to her for processing and payment. The homebound tutoring hourly rate is defined in the current Minnetonka Teachers Association Master Agreement.


Questions / Concerns

For general questions regarding homebound instruction and home tutoring please contact Shelly Hayes at 952-401-5087 or shelly.hayes@minnetonka.k12.mn.us.

For questions regarding homebound forms and/or timesheets please contact Beth Erickson at 952-401-5013 or beth.erickson@minnetonka.k12.mn.us.

Or submit questions, comments or compliments via Let's Talk. Someone will respond within one business day.