关于我们

我们是谁

Tonka CARES是一个以预防为重点的联盟,由代表社区各部门的50多名成员组成。我们与当地执法部门、企业、市政府、Minnetonka公立学校、支持青年的非营利组织、宗教团体、学生和家长合作,创造一个更健康的社区和环境,支持年轻人做出积极的决定。

该联盟成立于2005年,是明尼苏达州仅有的26个获得联邦无毒社区补助金的联盟之一。Tonka CARES已进入联邦无毒品社区赠款下的最后一年,并将依靠社区捐款来实现持续的可持续性。

根据明尼苏达州学生调查,我们社区的大多数年轻人选择不喝酒、不吸食大麻或其他毒品。然而,那些使用毒品的人可能会影响他们的学习,危害他们的健康,并最终危及他们的生命。这是一个全国性的问题,也是一个地方性的问题--但影响最大的是地方社区为减少药物使用所做的努力。

愿景

  1. 到2021年,将联盟中的积极伙伴和志愿者人数增加到75人。确保社区各部门和志同道合的组织的平衡。
  2. 到2021年,建立和加强明尼顿卡公立学校内部的关系,并在所服务的学校中展示对预防药物使用和早期干预的可衡量影响。
  3. 到2021年在社区和/或州一级的两个关键领域实现有意义的政策变革。
幸福的学生站在高中公共场所

与我们联系,参与我们的活动

获得每周提醒、有趣的活动提示、吸引人的文章等!

facebook图标 微博标志

Judy Hanson
项目协调员
judy.hanson@minnetonkaschools.org
952-401-5056(服务台)

About

Who we are

Tonka CARES is a prevention-focused coalition made up of 50+ members representing various sectors of the community. We work with local law enforcement, businesses, city government, Minnetonka Public Schools, non-profits supporting youth, faith communities, students and parents to create a healthier community and environment that supports positive decision making among young people.

The coalition was established in 2005 and is one of only twenty-six coalitions across MN awarded a federal Drug-free Communities Grant. Tonka CARES has entered its final year under the Federal Drug Free Communities Grant and will rely on community donations for ongoing sustainability.

According to the Minnesota Student Survey, most young people in our community choose not to use alcohol, marijuana or other drugs. Yet those who do use may compromise their learning, endanger their health and ultimately risk their lives. This a national issue, as well as a local one – but it is local community efforts to reduce substance use that have the most impact.

Vision

  1. Boost the number of active partners and volunteers in the coalition to 75 by 2021. Ensuring a balance of community segments and like-minded organizations represented.
  2. By 2021, build and strengthen relationships within the Minnetonka Public School and demonstrate measurable impact on substance use prevention and early intervention in those schools served.
  3. Effect meaningful policy change in two critical areas in the community and/or at the state level by 2021.
Happy studets standing in the High School Commons


Contact

We welcome your participation.

Kim Oelhafen
Project Director
kimberly.oelhafen@minnetonkaschools.org
952-401-5056 (desk)
612-322-5277 (mobile)

Meeting Schedule

  • Tuesday, Sept. 19, 9-10:30 a.m., DSC Community Room
  • Tuesday, Nov. 14, 1-2:30 p.m., DSC Community Room
  • Tuesday, Jan. 16, 9-10:30 a.m., DSC Community Room
  • Tuesday, March 13, 1-2:30 p.m., DSC Community Room
  • Tuesday, May 8, 9-10:30 a.m., DSC Community Room

View Complete Meeting Schedule