常问问题

为什么公办学校系统需要一个基础?

基金会为创新教育理念提供补充资金,否则可能得不到支持。为基金会筹集的资金增加了由纳税人、国家援助和其他公共资金来源提供的学区收入。此外,基金会还鼓励社区参与,并支持明尼顿卡公立学区及其学生的许多成就。

基金会资助哪些项目?

我们的教师资助计划直接响应学区教师和工作人员的要求,为一个学年内的项目提供短期创新课堂资助(平均在1000美元到2500美元之间)。

利用捐赠基金的收益,我们可以为更大规模的项目提供多年的资金,并对学生产生更广泛的影响。基金会利用捐赠基金的收益,资助了明尼顿卡高中写作中心的启动,并为整个地区的学生提供了先进的全球能力项目和课程。

谁决定基金会资助哪些项目?

校区工作人员会审查任何资助建议,以确保其与校区战略优先事项相一致。资金由基金会董事会批准,然后由Minnetonka学校董事会批准。

其他学区有基金会吗?

明尼苏达州有超过35个公立学区设有教育基金会。有一个捐赠基金来提供稳定可靠的资金,这使得明尼敦卡公立学校基金会与众不同。

有谁能成为基金会的董事会成员?

学区居民、Minnetonka校友、以及在校学生或过去学生的家长都有资格成为基金会的董事会成员。请到"联系我们"页面查询有关董事会成员的信息。

学校PTA/PTO和基金会有什么区别?

向PTA/PTO提供的捐款将留在该校,并可用于资助更广泛的计划、用品和服务。对基金会的捐款支持所有Minnetonka学校,只用于课程计划和材料。

我已经交了房产税,为什么要多捐?

除了教育我们的孩子,一个强大的教育系统对我们经济的健康、地方政府的稳健以及我们社区未来几代人的生活质量至关重要。Minnetonka学校在教育卓越和创新方面享有全国声誉,支持基金会有助于提高成绩。我们的学生和社区成员将多次获得这些好处。

Frequently Asked Questions

Why is a foundation necessary for a public school system?

The Foundation provides supplemental funds for innovative educational ideas which otherwise may not be supported. Funds raised for the foundation augment the school district revenues provided by taxpayers, state aid, and other public funding sources. Additionally, the Foundation generates community involvement and champions the many accomplishments of the Minnetonka Public School District and its students.

What kinds of programs does The Foundation fund?

Our Teacher Grant Program funds short-term innovative classroom grants (on average, between $1,000 and $2,500) for programs within a school year in direct response to requests from district teachers and staff.

With proceeds from our Endowment Fund, we can fund larger scale projects for multiple years and with broader student impact. Using Endowment Fund proceeds, the Foundation funded the launch of The Writing Center at Minnetonka High School and advanced global competency programs and curriculum for students throughout the district.

Who decides what programs are funded by the Foundation?

District staff reviews any funding proposals to ensure it is aligned with district strategic priorities. Funding is approved by the Foundation Board of Trustees and then the Minnetonka School Board.

Do other school districts have Foundations?

Minnesota has over 35 public school districts with education foundations. Having an Endowment Fund for consistent and reliable funding makes the Minnetonka Public Schools Foundation unusual.

Can anyone be on the board of the Foundation?

District residents, Minnetonka alumni, and the parents of current or past students are eligible to be on the foundation board of The Foundation. Please go to the Contact Us page to inquire about board membership.

What's the difference between a school PTA/PTO and the Foundation?

Contributions made to a PTA/PTO stay at that specific school and may be used to fund a wider variety of programming, supplies and services. Contributions to The Foundation support all Minnetonka schools and are solely for curricular programs and materials.

I already pay property taxes; why should I donate more?

In addition to educating our children, a strong education system is vital to the economic health of our economy, the robustness of our local government, and quality of life in our community for generations to come. Minnetonka schools have a national reputation for educational excellence and innovation, and supporting the Foundation fuels increased achievement. Our students and community members reap those benefits many times over.