关于午餐

营养需求

Minnetonka营养服务部参加了国家学校午餐计划(NSLP)。根据NSLP的要求规划菜单,每餐包括一到两盎司的肉类或肉类替代品,至少一份水果、一份蔬菜、谷物或面包和八盎司的牛奶。午餐必须满足三分之一的卡路里和根据年龄/年级组确定的主要营养素(蛋白质、铁、钙、维生素A、维生素C)的每日建议摄入量(RDA)。食用量是美国农业部膳食指南中推荐的食用量。适当的食用量可以帮助学生了解食用量的样子。每个年级都有主菜可供选择,以满足学生的食物偏好。

提供与服务

"提供与供应"的联邦规定要求向学生提供(而不是供应)构成午餐全餐的所有五种食物。学生可以根据自己的喜好选择三、四或五种食物,其中一种是水果或蔬菜。我们鼓励学生选择所有提供的食物,因为这能以最优惠的价格提供均衡的膳食。

水果和蔬菜

目前的研究结果加强了水果和蔬菜在饮食中的重要性,我们继续在沙拉吧和其他午餐选择中提供各种水果和蔬菜。我们继续在沙拉吧和其他午餐选择中提供各种各样的水果和蔬菜。今年,我们将继续从柏金水果和坚果公司购买水果和蔬菜,并参加国防部的新鲜农产品计划。这个政府计划帮助支付成本,因此我们可以提供更多的水果和蔬菜选择。不选择水果或蔬菜的学生必须支付非联邦资助餐的费用。

牛奶

我们的学校午餐计划要求提供牛奶作为午餐的组成部分之一。我們提供脫脂或1%的牛奶。對於從家裡帶來的午餐或自選午餐,一盒牛奶的價格是50美分。

乳糖还原奶

在家长或监护人的书面要求下,我们将免费为学生提供乳糖还原牛奶。请写明孩子的姓名、年级和学校。家長或監護人的要求可提交給 Jane Bender,電郵地址是 jane.bender@minnetonkaschools.org

无偿午餐费

"无偿"是我们在学生没有吃美国农业部认为的"完整午餐"时使用的术语。每份午餐菜单至少包括5种成分:牛奶、蛋白质、谷物、水果和蔬菜。一個孩子必須從餐單中選擇一種水果或一種蔬菜和另外兩種不同的食物,這樣的午餐才是"完整的午餐"。如果孩子沒有選擇完整的午餐,我們將不獲聯邦和州政府機構報銷。如果我们没有得到餐费报销,我们必须将这些费用转嫁到学生的餐费中。不可报销的午餐费用反映的是实际的餐费。我们的收银员会在收银台上保留额外的蔬菜和水果选择,让学生以学生的价格享用一顿完整的午餐。

About Lunch

Nutrition requirements

Minnetonka Nutrition Services participates in the National School Lunch Program (NSLP). Menus are planned according to NSLP requirements, with each meal consisting of one to two ounces of meat or meat alternative, at least one serving of a fruit, a vegetable, grain or bread and eight ounces of milk. Lunches must meet one-third of the calories and recommended daily allowances (RDA) for key nutrients (protein, iron, calcium, Vitamin A, Vitamin C) based on age/grade group. Serving sizes are those recommended in the USDA Dietary Guidelines. The serving sizes are appropriate to help teach students what a serving should look like. Choices of entrees are offered at each level to try to meet the food preference of students.

Offer vs. serve

The “Offer vs. Serve” federal regulation requires that students be offered (rather than served) all five food items comprising the full lunch meal. Students can choose three, four or five food items based on their preferences with one of those items being a full serving of a fruit or vegetable. Students are encouraged to take all of the food items offered because it provides a balanced meal for the best price.

Fruits and vegetables

Current research results reinforce the importance of fruits and vegetables in the diet. We continue to offer a wide variety of fruits and vegetables, both on the salad bar and with the other lunch options. This year, we will continue to purchase fruits and vegetables from Bergin Fruit and Nut Company and participate in the Department of Defense Fresh Produce Program. This government program helps defray costs so we can offer more fruit and vegetable choices. Students who do not choose a fruit or vegetable must pay the cost of a non-federally funded meal.

Milk

Our school lunch program is required to offer milk as one of the components of the lunch. A choice of skim or 1% milk is offered. For lunches brought from home or à la carte purchases, the price of a carton of milk is 50 cents.

Lactose-reduced milk

A lactose-reduced milk will be provided to students at no extra charge upon the written request of the parent or guardian. Please include the name, grade and child's school. Parent or guardian requests can be submitted to Jane Bender at jane.bender@minnetonkaschools.org.

Non-reimbursable lunch charge

"Non-reimbursable" is a term we use when a student does not take what the USDA considers a "complete lunch". Each lunch menu consists of a minimum of 5 components: milk, protein, grain, fruit and vegetable item. A child must take a fruit or a vegetable item and 2 other different items from the menu in order for the lunch to be a "complete lunch". When a child does not select a complete lunch, we are not reimbursed by the federal and state agencies. If we are not reimbursed for the meal, we must pass those charges on to the cost of the student's meal. The non-reimbursable lunch cost reflects the actual cost of the meal. Our cashiers keep extra vegetable and fruit choices at their registers for students to take to make a complete lunch at the student price.