沉浸式中文

如果在小学期间学习第二语言对您的家庭有重要价值,请从幼儿园开始报名参加我们的语言沉浸式课程!

本区是明尼苏达州最大的语言沉浸式课程所在地,有超过2000名小学生参加我们的全沉浸式课程。Excelsior 和 Scenic Heights 小學以校中校的形式提供中文課程。每所學校的幼稚園學生中,約有一半參加中文沉浸式課程,另一半則參加英文幼稚園課程。Minnetonka的所有中文浸入式教师都是以中文为母语的。

在我们的沉浸式课程中,从幼儿园到二年级,100%的课堂教学都是以中文授课。学生从三年级开始接受英语语言艺术和阅读教学。我们的学生在英语和中文方面的表现都非常出色。到五年级时,我们的中文沉浸式课程的学生在英语阅读和写作测试中的成绩与英语课程的学生一样好。

作为一个区,我们与中国和华文教育有着25年的渊源。从1985年开始,我们就与杭州外国语进行教师交流,教授中国语言文化。我们的高中、初中、小学都与杭州、北京建立了姊妹学校。此外,我们还交换了各个层次的学生,以丰富我们两个伟大国家之间的了解和传递文化价值。

为什么要学中文?

  • 中文是世界上五分之一的人口所使用的语言,是第一大语言。学习汉语将为能够熟练掌握汉语的学生提供许多职业机会。
  • 在明尼敦卡,我们的中文教学有着悠久而积极的历史。1989年,我们是明尼苏达州最早开设汉语作为世界语言的学区之一。今天,有超过750名学生(K-12)在明尼顿卡学习中文。
  • 与西安、北京、杭州等地的小学、高中结成姊妹学校,让学生有真实的交流机会。我们每年还接待杭州外国语学校的一名交流教师。而明尼通卡的老师也曾在杭州和北京任教。
  • 自2001年中国加入世界贸易组织以来,我们的州政府和联邦政府都把汉语和文化作为一项重要的教育投资。中国日益增长的经济实力,只会使汉语在全球经济中的地位更加突出。目前,中国持有美国最大部分的债务,并迅速成为世界经济超级大国之一。许多米内顿卡企业经常与中国开展业务。

Chinese Immersion

If learning a second language during elementary school is an important value for your family, enroll in our Language Immersion Program beginning in Kindergarten!

Our District is home to Minnesota's largest Language Immersion Program with more than 2,000 elementary students enrolled in our full immersion program. Chinese is offered as a school-within-a-school program at Excelsior and Scenic Heights Elementary Schools. About half of all Kindergarten students at each school enroll in Chinese Immersion and half enroll in the English Kindergarten program. All of our Chinese Immersion teachers at Minnetonka are native speakers.

In our Immersion Program, 100% of the classroom instruction is taught in Chinese from kindergarten to 2nd grade. Students begin English Language Arts and reading instruction in third grade. Our students perform exceedingly well in both English and Chinese. By 5th grade, our Chinese Immersion students score as well on English reading and writing tests as their peers in the English program.

As a District, we have had a strong connection with China and Chinese education for over 25 years. We have been exchanging teachers with Hangzhou Foreign Language and teaching Chinese language and culture since 1985. We have established sister schools from Hangzhou and Beijing for our High School, Middle Schools and Elementary Schools. In addition, we have exchanged students at every level in order to enrich our understanding and pass cultural values between our two great nations.

Why Learn Chinese?

  • Chinese is spoken by one-fifth of the world’s population and is the number one first-spoken languages. Learning Chinese will open many career opportunities for students who can acquire fluency.
  • In Minnetonka, we have a longstanding and positive history teaching Chinese Language. We were one of the first school districts in Minnesota to offer Chinese as a world language in 1989. Today, more than 750 students (K-12) study Chinese in Minnetonka.
  • Sister school arrangements with elementary and high schools in Xian, Beijing and Hangzhou allow students authentic exchange opportunities. We also host an exchange teacher from the Hangzhou Foreign Language School each year. In turn, Minnetonka teachers have taught in Hangzhou and Beijing.
  • Since China joined the World Trade Organization in 2001, both our state and federal government have made Chinese language and culture an important educational investment. China's growing economic presence will only make Chinese Language more of a factor in a global economy. Currently, China holds the largest portion of American debt and is quickly becoming one of the world's economic superpowers. Many Minnetonka businesses regularly conduct business with China.